Saint Paul's Cathedral N/A

A cathedral has stood on the site of Saint Paul’s for over 1400 years on Ludgate Hill, the highest point in the City of London. The present cathedral is the fourth to have been built on the site. Designed by Sir Christopher Wren, it was built between 1675 and 1710, after its predecessor was destroyed in the Great Fire of London. Services began in 1697. It was the first to be built after the English Reformation, and is the seat of the Bishop of London and the mother church of the Diocese of London.

The splendid library chamber in St Paul's Cathedral was designed by Nicholas Hawksmoor and Christopher Wren, and was completed in 1709. Its principal fixtures and fittings have remained largely unaltered to this day. It houses an important collection of books, manuscripts and archive material, largely collected since the Great Fire of London. In 1712 the library acquired nearly two thousand volumes from the library of Henry Compton, late Bishop of London, and in 1783 the library of John Mangey, Vicar of Dunmow and Prebendary of St Paul's, was added.

Stamp(s) Stamp Information
Saint Paul's Cathedral (Stamp 1) Title: Saint Paul's Cathedral (Stamp 1)
Dimensions (height x width): 100mm x 83mm
Heraldic Charges: swords (2)